Empowering Learning


Empowering learning is a programme that allows children to take greater ownership of their learning and development through actively encouraging them to develop as independent learners.

Empowering learning is split into six areas which are:

  • Self manager
  • Effective participator
  • Resourceful thinker
  • Reflective learner
  • Independent enquirer
  • Team worker

 These six areas are differentiated by each year group and provide the children with objectives to achieve.

We believe that all children can benefit academically and personally from the Empowering Learning programme as it actively encourages children to utilise each area to support their development.

Each week we celebrate different areas of our Empowering Learning in our Celebration Assemblies and award certificates to children who have shown particular strengths or determination in certain areas.

We celebrate all achievements at Westfield. We promise to: be resilient, be respectful, be unique and be our best!

Overview of Empowering Learning Curriculum